A Good Problem

Or at least I’m trying to believe (and convince ED) that it’s a good problem.
Let me paint you a picture.

This morning.  5:45 am.  Getting ready for work.

I put on a pair of jeans that I haven’t worn in a few weeks.  I wondered how they’d fit.  Well, they were snug.  I fit into them – buttoned and zipped without much work, but they were tight.  More tight than I’m comfortable with.

Good morning, Beth, you’re jeans don’t fit you so well, now do they?

Blah.  Except then I remembered something.  In my closet, I have a couple of pairs of jeans that are too big…saved for this very moment.  So I grabbed a pair of Calvin Kleins that would hardly stay on my rear end 7 months ago.  And they fit – loosely – but well enough to wear to work.

Huh, so these jeans fit you now, eh?  Wow.  Just wow.

ED, would you just shut up?

Source

The fact that these jeans were in my closet was quite serendipitous.  My aunt happened to notice them on the side of their road one day, folded, with tags attached.  She picked them up and sent them to me.  But it’s perfect.  My counselor suggested having a pair or two of jeans that I could grab for a day like this.  God is so good.

So the problem was that my first choice of jeans didn’t fit so well.  But it’s a good problem.  It’s a good problem.  And that number on the tag?  It doesn’t matter.  It’s just a number.

“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18

This is a sign that I’m getting closer to recovery – to health – to normalcy.  And I’m thankful.

Blessings,

Beth

10 thoughts on “A Good Problem

  1. Keep listening to the right voice. Ed is a jerk, not worth listening to, nothing constructive to say. I love every bit of you. “Money in the jar” Love, Mom

  2. Sometimes, when blessings rain upon you, they come as jeans laying by the side of the road. It was so funny, with the tags and all attached. I chose to take it as a message from God.

    I think those jeans were for you, and more than just serendipity. I think that God has a sense of humor, and sometimes deals with us gently. I’m glad we pulled the car over and picked up the jeans. When I held them up and realized that there was no way they would fit me with my gracefully aging body (!!!), I assumed they were for you.

    Keep ’em and wear ’em with joy. You are loved.

Leave a Reply

