An Exciting Report!

Hello Friends!

Guess what?  I have one final today, and one final tomorrow, and then I’m done!  Well, until September…but I’m going to try not to think about that too much for the next 3 1/2 months 😉

A few posts ago, I mentioned that my family and I would be going to San Diego for an Eating Disorder Treatment program.  I also may or may not have promised a full report on that soon…so here it is! 🙂

My family and I will be attending Intensive Family Therapy provided by the Eating Disorder Center at the University of California, San Diego (I’ll abbreviate it UCSD).  The rationale of this type of therapy is “…to provide parents with an understanding and the tools necessary to successfully interact and manage their child with anorexia at home. In addition, we teach adolescents with AN how to understand the symptoms that they are having and develop more effective coping strategies.”  (source)

Guys, I’m so excited!  CJ summed it up pretty well in her post the other day:”I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired!”  I don’t see this therapy method as a “magic bullet” — however, it sounds like it will provide a lot of tools and strategies to help get me in a healthier frame of mind.

Back to the therapy: they use the Maudsley approach.  As explained by UCSD:

“The theoretical understanding or overall philosophy of the Maudsley approach is that the adolescent is imbedded in the family, and that the parents’ involvement in therapy is vitally important for ultimate success in treatment.” (source)

It’s all about family – and the family working together to provide an individualized treatment plan, one that works for the family.  The really awesome thing about this is that my family and I don’t have to fit some mold of ideal therapy – we get to work with experts who will help us tweak it to fit us best!  In a sense, it seems like this type of treatment works to retrain my mind – to take a step back and be more child-like, when it comes to eating.

The UCSD program also incorporates relaxation techniques to cope with stress, and teaches some methods for effective family communication.  Don’t worry – you’ll get a full report when I’m back!  We fly out in less than 2 weeks.

Not only will this be a great time to learn a lot about dealing with eating disorders, but it will be like a (dare I say it?)…VACATION!  We’ll attend treatment from 9am-4pm, and then be free to do as we please.

Beaches?

(source)

Check!

Sun?

(Source)

Yep!

Not to mention the boardwalk, lots of shopping, different food, different climate TOTALLY…I’m looking forward to this.

It’s just one more bit of proof that God is good and He knows just what we need 🙂

Blessings!

Beth

8 thoughts on “An Exciting Report!

  1. This is splendid! So excited for you to have this opportunity to advance the work of healing God is doing in your body. 🙂

  2. I am getting excited too! Did I tell you that Bobbie and Pete will be an hour away and want to come meet us one evening!!??

    Love, Ma


  3. A fun song that is all about being sick and tired by a powerful female singer who has overcome her own battles (Crohn’s Disease and Cancer) – hope you enjoy! And congrats on almost being done with school (:

Leave a Reply

