Head or Heart

Guess what?  It’s Wednesday!  Do you know what that means?  It’s closer to Saturday!  And do you know what THAT means?  The semester is almost over!!!!!!  Not that I’m excited or anything….

Buckle your seat belts…I’m about to get philosophical 😉

There’s a big difference between knowing something in your head and believing it in your heart.  Belief and faith in Jesus may be the first thing that comes to mind as you think about head vs. heart.  Romans 10:9 says “That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” (NIV)  Sounds easy.  But sometimes there’s a roadblock between our heads and our hearts.  And just to complicate things, this disconnect between head and heart doesn’t occur only in our relationships with Jesus, but in other aspects of life.  However, I have a hunch most of these issues are deeply rooted in our relationship with the Lord.

See, when it comes to Eating Disorders, people can tell me that I’m not fat.  People can tell me I look good, am beautiful, fill-in-the-blank ad nauseum.  And in my mind, I know this to be true.  Someone at my height and my weight can’t be fat.  But my heart doesn’t believe it.  My head knows that eating ___________ won’t make me puff up like a balloon overnight, but my heart is scared that the morning after eating that burger or piece of cake, my jeans won’t fit.

And then, I think through the nitty-gritty facts: how it takes a LOT of calories on top of what I already consume in order to gain one pound.  How that burger or piece of cake physically canNOT cause my jeans to not fit in the morning.  My head knows these things – I can spout off the figures like it’s nobody’s business.  But my heart…my heart just can’t quite grasp it.

So when our hearts can’t see things the way our head does…why does that happen?  Like I said a moment ago, I think there are roots in our relationship with Jesus.  Perhaps it’s not that there’s been a big catastrophe or crisis of faith, but maybe just a subtle lack of belief that the enemy has slid under the door.  Perhaps when our heart and our head don’t agree, what our heart really struggles with is believing that Jesus loves us as much as he says he does.

After all, why would he love me so much?  ED says I’m not good enough, attractive enough, smart enough, thin enough.  And if I’m not good enough, then why would Jesus love me?  But that’s where ED is wrong.  To be blunt, I’m not good enough…on my own.  I’m a sinner, an imperfect human, but Jesus came, and died for us because we’re NOT good enough by our own power.

Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  When we were still sinners – when we were not good enough…Christ died for us.  And even though we’re still human and still sinful, Christ has redeemed us and taken the punishment we should have received – because He loves us anyways.

Believing ED’s lies basically throws Jesus’ love for me right back in his face.

Ouch.

How apt and timely that my devotional this morning focused on this scripture:

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

In the Bible, Jesus tells us of his love for us over and over.  May this reality be like a mighty river, washing away any roadblock between our heads and our hearts.  May it be enough for our hearts to believe.

Blessings,

 

Beth

 

6 thoughts on “Head or Heart

  1. Always impressed with your posts. You have great voice in your writing, and this post is exactly the kick in the pants we need every now and then, myself included. Thanks for your transparency and honesty!

  2. Beautiful.
    Very wise.
    It’s so powerful to see you in daily life, in both your struggles and your victories, and then to read your thought process, your growth process. You’re goin’ places girl! And I hope and pray you are newly reinvigorated in knowing in your heart, in your soul, that whay ED says has no true power and you are cherished and worthy and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

