Tuna Noodle-y Comfort

Well hello!  I hope you all were able to enjoy some fun weekend sun-shiney activities!  There are two weeks left of school…TWO WEEKS!  And then I’m home free.  So.EXCITED!

I’m please to report that cooking and eating dinner with my roomie, Elizabeth is going quite well.  Although we’re starting to plan how we’ll eat well this week without buying too many groceries, and then how we’ll polish off the frozen leftovers…but hey…at least we’ve got choices 🙂

Not all of our meals yield leftovers for the freezer though.  Take this Tuna Noodle Casserole, for example.

Simple, creamy, and healthy…and it was gone in two nights!

I used the classic recipe from Campbell’s – but of course, I HAD to change it up a bit!

Here’s the recipe, adapted from Campbell’s:

1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup (Regular 98% Fat Free)

1/2 cup milk

1 cup frozen peas

3 medium mushrooms, chopped

2 cans (about 5 ounces each) tuna, drained (I used one in water and one in oil)

about 2 cups whole wheat egg noodles, cooked and drained

5-7 whole wheat ritz crackers, crushed

1 tablespoon butter, melted

  • Heat the oven to 400°F.  Stir the soup, milk, peas, mushrooms, tuna and noodles in a 1 1/2-quart casserole dish.  Stir the crushed ritz crackers and butter in a small bowl.
  • Bake the casserole for 20 minutes or until hot and bubbling.  Stir then sprinkle with the cracker and butter mixture.
  • Bake for 5 minutes or until the bread crumb mixture is golden brown.

So tasty!  It reminded me of my childhood when mom would make tuna noodle casserole for dinner on those cold, blustery nights.  Obviously, child-like taste buds would NOT have been okay with the whole wheat noodles, mushrooms, and ritz crackers.  But hey…our tastes grow with us, right?  Right.

Cheap, easy, tasty…sounds like a great dinner to me!

In other news, remember the big news I had for you?  In case anyone has been on the edge of their seat in suspense, here it is: my family and I will be going to the Eating Disorder center at the University of California, San Diego, to participate in a week-long treatment class!  I’ll be writing a full post about it soon soon, but let me just say this: it’s family training with the idea that I can recover at home, in a more natural setting and avoid an in-patient center.  Disclaimer: in-patient centers have their time and place, but my family and I don’t think that now is the time for me.  Anyways, we’ll be flying to San Diego in a couple weeks and I’m SO excited!

Well there ya have it – a tasty recipe and some exciting news!

Happy Monday – have a great week!

Blessings,

Beth

2 thoughts on “Tuna Noodle-y Comfort

  1. Yummy! I haven’t made a tuna casserole like that for a while! And you are really cranking out the blog posts girl! That in spite of the brown trout and homework issues!! Love you sweetheart! Mom

Leave a Reply

