Tastes Like Home

You know how there’s some recipes that no matter how many times you make them, they NEVER taste as good as the first person who made it for you?  This is why I don’t try to make my mom’s chicken stew or meatloaf.  This is why I’ve never even tried to make roasted red potatoes like my Aunt Chelle.  And even though I’ve tried to make pasta salad like my Aunt Alice, it just never tastes as good.

Well, friends this recipe I’m about to share isn’t quite like mom would make, but it reminded me a lot of mom’s scalloped potatoes!

Except it was a breakfast casserole.  But just go with it, m’kay?

This casserole, which came together in a snap was not only easy, but filling, satisfying and quite inexpensive to make.  It served as a teamwork dinner, and provided leftovers for one night for both Elizabeth and I, as well as dinner for me tonight.  Hooray for leftovers! 🙂

So why did this remind me of mom’s scalloped potatoes and ham?  I think it must have been the combo of ham and onions, whose smell wafted from the oven, torturing us until the blessed timer went off signaling time to dish up!  But I literally opened the oven and was taken back to Christmas break when mom and I made those deeeeelightful scalloped ‘taters!  Sigggghhhh……..anyways…

 

Farmer’s Casserole

Adapted from “The New Better Homes and Garden’s Cook Book”

 

The Goods

Nonstick cooking spray

Frozen roasted baby red potatoes, or other frozen potato (enough to cover the bottom of the pan)

A couple handfuls of shredded (cheddar) cheese

1 small package of Canadian bacon, diced

1/2 small onion, chopped

4 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

salt and pepper to taste

 

The Method

 

 

 

1. Lightly coat pan with non stick spray; pour in enough potatoes to cover the bottom of the pan

2. Layer Canadian bacon and onions and one handful of cheese on top of potatoes

3. Beat eggs with milk, salt and pepper, then pour over potatoes

4. Bake, uncovered at 350* for 40-45 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.

5. Let stand 5 tortuous minutes before serving

 

And voila!  A tasty, inexpensive, healthy CUSTOMIZABLE dinner!  Use whatever kind of potatoes you like.  Use whatever kind of cheese you like!  Don’t like Canadian bacon?  Use ham or regular bacon.  Or skip the meat and add veggies.  It’s a blank canvas 🙂

A lovely dinner, especially when accompanied by toast and broccoli (and the obligatory squirt of ketchup).  This would obviously be excellent for a breakfast/brunch also.  Or lunch.  So basically, you can eat it any time of the day 🙂

Well, this weekend went by in a hurry!  From Elizabeth’s senior recital, to shoe shopping to homework, it’s been full.  But I’m looking forward to my mom’s visit tomorrow!  It’s going to be short and sweet, but I’ll take it!  I wish my dad could come too, but it’s only a few more weeks until summer break.

I’m sure I’ll properly document my mom’s visit, which will include an inexpensive dinner and ice cream.  Perhaps some more cookies and cream?  And guess what?  ED isn’t invited.

Blessings!

Beth

 

2 thoughts on “Tastes Like Home

  1. Sounds like you have another winner!! I am almost ready to head out your way but had to check my favorite blog out first! See you soon! love, Mom

Leave a Reply

