Christmas-Time and Life

Wow, it’s been a week since my last post!  Guess I’m really on vacation!

I hope you all had a delightful and merry Christmas!  I enjoyed the day very much, going to church, cooking, relaxing, and driving around to look at Christmas lights.  Oh, and having pie, of course 🙂

Here are a few scenes of my break thus far:

Party!

 

They only look like poop. They're actually oreo balls before the choclate coating 🙂

 

Before baking....

 

I was having too much fun to actually remember to photograph Christmas morning or Christmas dinner.  Or even the pie after baking.  I think this is a good thing 🙂

This week has been lovely so far.  Much relaxing, shopping, cooking and fellowship-ing.  Deeee-lightful!  To be completely real, though, this time of year is undoubtedly one of the hardest for dealing with my bad friend (eating disorder).  Every where I turn there’s food!  And it’s sugary, creamy…delicious.  All these foods we only eat at special events – pumpkin or peppermint confections, summer sausage with cheese, Christmas cookies.  Every get-together is centered around food.  Costco even has extra samples out!  It’s like this crazy dual temptation.  I want to taste everything, eating to the point of satisfaction, while delighting in the decadent treats (temptation #1).  But then I become nervous – scared, even.  There are so many choices.  So many things I want to taste.  So many calories.  Then, I just want to walk out.  Or throw my plate away and grab a stick of gum.  This is temptation #2.

Guys, I haven’t mastered this yet.  I’d love to say that I find this great happy-medium where I enjoy a normal amount of food, neither feeling deprived or overly full, and then I happily skip home, feeling comfortable and relaxed.  That, however, wouldn’t be entirely true.  I can usually eat a normal amount of food…or at least eat until I feel satisfied.  But then that nasty voice starts bugging me, telling me that I ate too much or that I better walk extra in the morning.

So what do I do?  I do the best that I can.  I eat several times during the day.  Perhaps not always up to “standard” but again, I do my best.  And then I take care of myself.  I make time to just be alone in the quiet.  I go for walks.  I reflect on all the reasons I have to take care of myself.  And I read scripture, going back to the promises I’ve read over and over, taking comfort in their familiar and comforting words.  These things aren’t magic pills, but they certainly help. 🙂

I don’t mean to sound like a downer.  God is still good and faithful.  He won’t leave me or forsake me.  And change and growth never come without a little discomfort 🙂

I hope you’re all enjoying the Holidays!  Check back soon for a recipe for the best scalloped potatoes, possibly ever.  Seriously.

Blessings!

Beth

 

5 thoughts on “Christmas-Time and Life

  1. Great vacation column! I especially liked the part about the best scalloped potatoes ever which, of course , are mine! But you do a fine job cooking. We make a good team. Love ya always and forever, Mom

Leave a Reply

