One Legit Quesadilla

Who likes simple yet tasty eats?  (I do!)  And who views it as a bonus if these simple and tasty eats are inexpensive? (Ooooh pick me!)  If you answered yes to either of these questions, then this post is for you! 🙂  If you remember, I have criteria for recipes (being a poor college kid and all).  Also, I’m a fan of simple comfort food.  One evening, in search of a dinner that would meet these high demands, I felt stuck.  I had tortillas, cheese, and chicken…the makings of a perfect quesadilla.  Except, I didn’t have any salsa.  Neither did the roomies And I didn’t want to go to the store.  So a hemmed and hawed, opened and closed the fridge and freezer too many times…and then it hit me.  I remembered reading a post on one of my favorite blogs, Iowa Girl Eats about BBQ chicken quesadillas, with caramelized onions.  But alas, I didn’t have onions either.  But I did have corn.  Hmm.  Corn, chicken and BBQ sauce filling, sprinkled with cheese, encased in a tortilla.  It might just work!

And work, it certainly did!  The cheese melts and mixes with the BBQ sauce, which lightly coats the sweet, crisp corn, and the chicken just practically melts in with the rest of the filling.  Oooooh, and don’t forget that crispy-on-the-edges but soft-in-the-middle tortilla!  SO TASTY!

And so easy!  Just cook up some chicken (frozen chicken tenders work great for a single serving), shred it, then mix it in with defrosted corn and BBQ sauce.  Here is my sauce of choice (I’ll just pretend it doesn’t have high fructose corn syrup…..).  Any sauce will do!

After mixing the filling, simply place a tortilla in a preheated pan (a little non stick spray might not hurt).  Layer cheese, filling, then more cheese, and fold this doomed deliciousness in half.  Let it cook for a few minutes, then carefully flip it over.  Give it a few minutes, and then dig in!!

Oh, by the way,  I like to keep the burner on low to prevent the tortilla from browning too much.  This can make cooking seem to take AGES, though, so I pop a lid on it for a bit.  Gotta have melty cheese, yo! 🙂

I like to round out this meal with a small salad and a few chips.  Sour cream and more BBQ are great for dipping!

Give it a try – it’s super simple, and CRAZY tasty!  Let me know what ya think!

Enjoy the weekend, folks.

Blessings,

Beth

2 thoughts on “One Legit Quesadilla

  1. Beth, enjoyed your blog. It is amazing what you can find to make when you are creative and love food.. Keep up the good work. Love, Dorothy

Leave a Reply

