Food…a Gift From God

Have you ever had one of those days when God just fits pieces into place for you?  They’re wonderful.  Today is one of those blessed days.

I meet with a counselor weekly as part of my Eating Disorder recovery.  Today, we began talking about my feelings of being overwhelmed by all the beautiful words my dear family and friends were leaving for me today (it’s my birthday!).  I felt caught off guard by these feelings, and desperately wanted to explore them…dissect them to find the origin.  And God was faithful to put pieces together for me.

It came down to not feeling worthy of God’s amazing love, and therefore, I haven’t been allowing it in as much as I need to.  This prevents me from loving myself the way I ought to, and ultimately, from loving others the way I want to.  Let that settle for a moment.

We discussed all kinds of things around this topic, and how I might go about fully taking God at His word and believing He loves me as He says He does.  The big word was surrender.  Surrender to the fact that God DOES love me and nothing I’ve done or ever will do could possible change that.

After more conversation, something made me think of food.  Food as an expression of God’s love.  You see, He could have made food something simply to sustain us.  It could have been bland and boring…I picture dog food.  But He didn’t do that.  He made it colorful and full of flavor.  He made different textures and smells.  He made it something to enjoy because He loves us and loves to give us good things.

How beautiful.  And healing.

And to not enjoy and surrender to the love in the gift…isn’t that essentially scoffing God and His beautiful gift? (thought, courtesy of my roomie)

I saw this video on one of my favorite blogs, My Little Celebration, and I’ve been wanting to repost….I think this is the perfect opportunity!

 

What a display of the pure enjoyment of the gift of good food.

And a quote for your enjoyment:

“We shall draw nearer to God, not by trying to avoid the sufferings inherent in all loves, but by accepting them and offering them to Him; throwing away all defensive armor.  If our hearts need to be broken, and if He chooses this as the way in which they should break, so be it.”

C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

Take care,

Beth

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Food…a Gift From God

  1. Another ace sweetheart! Nice job! Did you write this while you were studying for that biology test? LOL. Hope you enjoyed your dinner and the whole day! Love you bunches and bunches, Mom

  2. Excellent post! I’ve said for years that food is a sign of God’s grace since, as you so rightly point out, it did not have to be so varied or tasty! We would not have known to miss the sense of taste if we had never been given it – just an extra gift of grace, I think. Good to see the same thought here; great minds think alike and all that 🙂

Leave a Reply

