A Few of my Favorite Things…

I have a lot of things I’d call “favorite”.  Things like family, heaters, ice cream, and The Sound of Music top the list.  Another that rates pretty darn high is simple food.  You know what I mean.  Food that’s easy to cook, tastes good, and just…feels good!  For me, this primarily means food that doesn’t give me a tummy ache.  There’s one meal in particular that I can nearly always count on to provide this for me.  I eat it often, but tonight it just hit me….why don’t I blog it!??!?  Duh.  So here it is – my favorite, go-to, simple, easy-on-the-tummy meal.  Perhaps you will enjoy it as much as I do 🙂

Tada!  Here it is.  Nothin’ too special or fancy, just tasty!

Our star – a piece of spelt toast, spread lightly with butter (yes, the real stuff!), and crowned by a scrambled egg that was whisked with a splash of milk, S&P, cheese and a slice of deli ham, then topped with a sprinkle of cheese.  Delish!  Comfort food at it’s college-cheap finest 😉

An eggy breakfast-inspired dinner just isn’t right with out the ‘taters!  A little bitty Yukon Gold potato, to be exact!  I TOTALLY cheated on cooking this, though.  2 minutes in the microwave, sliced, tossed in the pan to brown…but it works, and that’s what matters to me, friends!

Oh, and if you’re curious about my trio of sauces: sour cream, ketchup and some extra ranch…I will shamelessly admit…I like my dippin’ sauces! 🙂

If you know me very well, this element of my tasty, simple meal shouldn’t come at all as a shock…the salad.  I topped this one with tomato, zucchini and celery, drizzled on some Wishbone ranch (no high fructose corn syrup!!!!!) and crushed some tortilla chips for crunch (’cause this girl is too cheap for formal salad toppings).  YUMMY VEGGIES!

I enjoyed my dinner with a glass of water and this:

THE DECEMBER ISSUE OF REAL SIMPLE!!!!!!!!!!!

Not that I’m excited or anything…..

But I should definitely add it to the list, ’cause there’s NO doubt – it’s one of my favorite things!


I think I’m gonna call it a night!

Check back soon for a birthday-month update and a recap of a mysterious adventure I’ll be taken on by non other than my dear roommate.

Oh!  This has been encouraging me this week – perhaps it will do the same for you 🙂

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus”

Philippians 4:19

Have an excellent day!

Beth

3 thoughts on “A Few of my Favorite Things…

Leave a Reply

