Mini Apple Crumbles

Are ya’ll ready for a recipe?  Okay, good!  ‘Cause you’re gonna get one 😀

Sometimes, inspiration just strikes.  I wanted to make something with the apples my mom sent me (which grew on the trees in our back yard *tear*) but due to a dietary experiment, it needed to be wheat-free.  Hmmmm *cue jeopardy music*….INSPIRATION!  I could make a crust out of what I usually make a crumble topping out of (oats, butter, brown sugar, cinnamon) and put apple pie filling on top!  And I could make them mini size!  In muffin cups!  How CUTE!  So I found me a apple pie filling recipe and got busy.

I started with these lovely apples, the tart-er variety of the lovelies my mom sent.  They were small, and therefore a wee bit tough to peel, but TOTALLY worth the work…and the slice I took out of my thumb (but don’t worry, I didn’t get blood in anything!!)

All chopped up! But I promise, the red is from the apple skin, NOT from me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After chopping the apples (and not the rest of my fingers), I placed them in a meduium sized pot with sugar (I used brown sugar), water, salt, and cinnamon.  Oh, and don’t forget to preheat the oven!

And then, COOOOOOOK!!

 

 

 

While the apples are simmering, (being occasionally stirred), I got to work on the oat-crust.  It’s pretty simple – I just threw some oats (I chose quick-cooking), butter or margarine, cinnamon, brown sugar and a squeeze of honey in a bowl and mixed it up.  I ended up popping this in the microwave for a few seconds to make the butter more manageable.

Next, I tossed some muffin cups in a muffin pan, and pressed a small scoop of the oat mixture in the bottom of the cups.  Toss them in the oven for a few minutes while you finish the apple filling.

While the crusts are crisping a bit, I mixed up some cornstarch and water to put in the apple mixture.  This takes it from ho-hum soupyness to thick, gooey JOY!  I could have seriously just eaten the filling…but I exercised great self control and carried on!!

Ok, so maybe it doesn't look that great, but believe me...it tasted suuuper good!

After the filling is done, take out the cute little crusts, and fill ’em up!

 

 

 

Now, I was lucky enough to have leftover crust mix, so I decided to top the little crumbles to make them more pie like…weee!

And into the oven they go!

And then they come out!!!!

I opted to let them cool for a wee bit before digging in…they were toasty!  But I also decided to flex my food-artist muscles…which are weak…but you gotta start somewhere, no?

These were tasty…and the roomies sure liked them!  Give ’em a try – and feel free to play with the recipe – I think it’s quite adaptable.

Recipe for filling adapted from Betty Crocker:

5 cups apples, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)

1/4 cup water

1/8 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground nutmeg (if desired…I didn’t use it cause I didn’t have any!)

I added lemon juice to keep the apples from turning brown

2 tbsp cornstarch

2 tbsp water

 

Recipe for Crumble Crust/Topping

1 1/2 cups oats (I used quick cooking)

1/2 stick butter or margarine

1/4-1/3 cup packed brown sugar

A good sprinkling of cinnamon

A good squeeze of honey

Method

1. Preheat oven to 350*

2. Wash, peel and chop apples; combine in a pot with sugar, water, salt, and cinnamon (and nutmeg and lemon juice, if using).  Heat mixture to boiling; reduce to medium low and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. While the apples are cooking, mix the oats, butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and honey in a medium bowl.   (It’s okay to microwave this for a few seconds if the butter hasn’t come to room temperature).  Line the muffin pan, and press 1-ish tablespoons of the mixture in the bottom of each indentation.  You should have leftovers!  Bake these in the preheated oven for about 5 minutes.

4. When the apples have cooked for about 10 minutes, mix the cornstarch and water in a small bowl.  Add to apple mixture, cooking 1 minute, or until thickened.  Spoon into each muffin cup till almost full.

5. Top each with the remaining oat mixture.  Bake at 350* for 10-15 minutes.  But PLEASE watch them…they brown quickly!

Serve warm with ice cream and/or milk…but I highly recommend ice cream.

Obviously 🙂

Enjoy!

In other news, I picked up the new edition of Real Simple Magazine today!  Not only is it stunningly beautiful and choc-full of warm, homey decoration ideas and tasty looking Thanksgiving recipes, but it began with this quote:

“You say grace before meals.

All right.

But I say grace before the play and the opera,

And grace before the concert and pantomime,

And grace before I open a book,

And grace before sketching, painting,

Swimming, fencing, boxing, walking, playing, dancing;

And grace before I dip the pen in the ink.”

G. K. Chesterton, from an early notebook (mid-1890’s)

How beautiful.

Beth

10 thoughts on “Mini Apple Crumbles

  1. Yummmy! These look awesome! love the commentary also! Sure do miss your cooking around here (and your “clean up the kitchen” efforts.) I ran the dishwasher today!

    love ya girl, Ma

  2. As one of the beneficiaries of this dessert, I would humbly add that they were WONDERFUL and I gladly ate more than one! 🙂 I’m one lucky roomie!

Leave a Reply

