A blog (and a stirfry) is born ~

Hello!  Thank you for taking a moment to read my blog!  I hope you’ll take a few more moments and read the other pages while you’re at it 🙂

Blogging seems to be the new “it” thing to do.  From food blogs, to journal blogs, to rant-and-rave blogs – they’re all out there.  If you’ve read my About page, you know the purpose of this blog – primarily to share recipes and in so doing, promote Body Peace for myself and others.  But also, I’m blogging because I adore writing and cooking and sharing what’s on my mind – what better way to do all of those things? 🙂  With that said, here’s the first recipe up to bat!!!  WOOOOOOOO!!!!

Chicken-Sausage-Veggie-Stir-fry…Thing

I’m a fan of heading to the kitchen with a few ingredients in mind and a basic direction, but no recipe.  It’s kinda fun to just see what I can create!  This is a prime example.

I started out with one smallish green zucchini and one smallish yellow squash, along with a few spears of asparagus.  After slicing/chopping/breaking said vegetables into more manageable pieces, I spritzed with olive oil, and sprinkled a little salt and pepper and dehydrated onion (but fresh would work great too).  Sauté until veggies begin to feel soft and have those nifty little brown marks from the pan 🙂

Meanwhile, slice up a couple of precooked chicken sausages and toss them in a pan to brown up a bit (PLEASE follow the package cooking instructions!!)  I used a mild sweet Italian variety, but I would imagine almost any flavor would work!  Oh, and now would probably be a great time to get some rice or pasta cooking…whoops!

Once the vegetables have reached a desirable state of doneness (is that even a word?!), dump in a can of diced tomatoes.  I also added unmeasured dashes of…wait for it…oh yeah!  Garlic powder, onion powder, garlic salt and a bit of an Italian herb blend.  Bring the tomatoes to a simmer, and after about 5 or so minutes, add the sausage.  Give this a few more minutes to simmer (or wait until the rice is done…ha!)  and then you’re ready to go!

            

I made up a little salad to round out this meal, which, for the record, fed three of us, not just me! 😉

The Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 green zucchini, chopped
  • 1 yellow squash, chopped
  • 5-6 spears of asparagus, tough ends removed, broken into bite-size pieces
  • Olive oil (for spritzing)
  • 2 chicken sausages
  • Rice or pasta
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (use the liquid)
  • Various herbs and spices

Directions

  • Sauté first three ingredients in a spritzing of olive oil until soft
  • Slice, then brown chicken sausage according to package instructions
  • Prepare rice or pasta according to package instructions
  • Add tomatoes and various herbs and spices to veggies, simmer 5ish minutes
  • Add chicken sausage to veggie-tomato mixture, simmer until ready to serve

By the way, this recipe is COMPLETELY customizable.  You can use almost any veggies you desire, any kind of sausage (or other meat) and whatever herbs and spices make sense.  Wooohooo for easy, please-anyone recipes! 🙂

One thing that makes eating that much more challenging for someone recovering from an Eating Disorder is not knowing what and how much of what is in a meal or dish.  Some people call this controlling.  I call it healthy knowledge.  If knowing what I’m eating makes me feel better about it, I think that’s worth something!  And cooking meals like this is perfect for that.  My goal, though, is to loosen up over time.  One bite at a time. 🙂

Do you prefer cooking from a recipe or making it up as you go?

Take care,

Beth


5 thoughts on “A blog (and a stirfry) is born ~

  1. Hey,

    Great blog! The pictures went above and beyond anything I was expecting. This is truly an inspirational idea and if you weren’t already doing, I might start my own. Are you interested in suggestions or is this a place for you to post without everyone’s two cents? What about getting recipes from your readers?
    Again, great blog. I’m looking forward to adding breadth to my own cooking endeavors. Also, I’ve begun to think about own biggest battle and how a blog for that might go, but the there is the ever-present boundary of shame. Good for you for getting over it.

    For the record; I love cooking randomly, but I try not to forget a well-made mistake 😛

    Keep’em coming!

    -Chris

    • Thanks, Chris! I would love suggestions, and I really like the idea of getting recipes from readers to try out. Thank you so much for reading!!
      Beth

  2. lOVE YOUR RECIPE. I, too, love to cook, add to, subtract ingredients in recipes. Add some thyme, dried or fresh to this dish. I think you will love. I recently started thyme more often, in both chicken and veggie dishes. Keep up the good cooking.!

Leave a Reply

